Latest News

Hilda Alva new DCCW President

Media Release

Posted on : November 9, 2014 at 1:20 PM

Dear Readers, we are running a free media with high democratic values. Without subscriptions, advertisements & having no patrons or god fathers, we depend on your support to run this pro people, impartial, unbiased and courageous media. Kindly support us by your generous help.
Our Google Pay & Paytm Number - 8277362399

Our Bank Details:
Name: Donald Pereira
Bank: Canara Bank
A/C No: 0977101022194
Hampankatta Branch, Mangaluru 575 001
IFSC Code: CNRB0000612
MICR Code: 575015009

The leadership development programme for the newly elected leaders of the Diocesan Council of Catholic Women (DCCW) was held at Bishop’s House recently.

The women representatives of various associations and leaders of all Parish units were present at the inaugural. The President Lydia Dcunha welcomed the gathering and explained the objectives,  History and development of DCCW and stressed the need for the women to work unitedly, specially work for women in distress. The Spiritual Director Rev. Fr. Francis D’Souza said women have now understood their mission towards their family and society as well and the need to come, stay and work together.

DCCW_Election (12) DCCW_Election (11) DCCW_Election (10) DCCW_Election (9) DCCW_Election (7) DCCW_Election

Ms. Nayana Fernandes, Vice President, and Mr. Winston, Executive Committee member of CASK (Catholic Association of South Kanara) were present. Mr. Winston D’Souza, Introduced CASK centenary projects and gave a brief explanation regarding the eye and body donation, one of the  projects of CASK. He handed over the forms to the President of DCCW to be filled by those who wish to donate their body parts after death.

Fr.Vinod Mascarenhas, Project Director, Capuchin, Krishik Seva Kendra, Belthangady along with his team conducted the workshop through skits and power point presentation. He explained how the position of the man in the family creates the atmosphere in the house and at times which leads to the suffering of women. The skits brought out the need for women to come together breaking the hurdles and work towards the empowerment. He also stressed the need to include young women in the council. Two women, Ms. Shahida of Vimukti and Ms.Theresa Lobo, the Belthangady Varado Council President shared their experience and the problems they faced in their journey of leadership.

A presentation of women in various fields was made through PPT. The follow up sessions will be continued at Varado level.

At the General Body a detailed report of DCCW activities and report of SAHAY – counseling and guidance centre of DCCW was presented by Secretary Terry Pais and Sahay Coordinator Prof. Lena Fernandes respectively. The Bishop of Mangalore, Most Rev. Dr. Aloysius Paul D’Souza presided over the Gernal Body. Prof. Lena Fernandes was felicitated for her service towards women in distress.

The Bishop in his message said that the women’s council members need to work towards the women and children of the diocese.

DCCW_Election (1) DCCW_Election (8) DCCW_Election (3) DCCW_Election (2) DCCW_Election (5) DCCW_Election (4) DCCW_Election (6)

The following office bearers were elected:

President: Ms. Hilda Alva, Bondel, Vice Presidents: Ms.Lena Regao, Puttur, Ms.Flossy Lobo, Merlapadav, Secretary: Ms. Anita Lobo, Bajal, Treasurer: Ms.Nancy Fernandes, Milagres, Life Member Representative: Myrtle Lobo, Bendore and Lynette Almeida, Ashok Nagar. Life Member Representatives: Myrtle Lobo Bendore and Lynette Almeida Ashok Nagar.

The election was conducted by Ms. Lily Periea, Ex President, DCCW and Flavy D’Souza, the first woman president of Catholic Sabha was the observer.

The vote of thanks was proposed by DCCW Secretary Ms. Terry Pais. Ms. Gretaa Pinto, Surathkal and Assumpta Crasta, Vamanjoor compered.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News